Assessing Risk Levels

Risk levels are categorised in a numbered format. Each hazard is given a rating and this is multiplied by the probability that these hazards will occur, as shown in the following equation.

Risk level = (Hazard severity) x (Likelihood of occurrence)

Multiply the two scores together and you will get the risk level. This figure should be entered into the Job Safety Analysis form.

For example: 3 (hazard) multiplied by 3 (occurrence) = 9 (risk level)

The following bullet points are guidelines to help you gauge how quickly you need to put the controls in place, so dates will vary from office to office.

  • Hazard risk level 15-25

action must be taken immediately to reduce that risk.

  • Hazard risk level 10-14

the line manager must be informed before the end of that working day

  • Hazard risk level 1-9

action needs to be taken at the earliest opportunity, as soon as it is reasonably practicable to do so, taking into account local circumstances.


The Risk Assessor should retain completed Job Safety Analysis Forms and a copy should be sent to the Health & Safety Manager.

Job Safety Analysis must be made available to all relevant personnel and they must be kept up to date.


 Only US$199 Buy Now: Only US$199


This information is derived from the Job Safety Report Generator™
For further information about the JSA Generator, visit the Job Safety Analysis Report Generator home page


See also Health & Safety Manuals Made Easy

This site was created with EasyHTMLHelp™ for MS Word



Up One Level